Social Security Adds 5 New Compassionate Allowances Conditions

The Social Security Administration has expanded its list of conditions qualifying for expedited processing for disability benefits.

The 5 new Compassionate Allowances conditions brings the total number of conditions on the Compassionate Allowances list to 233.

The Compassionate Allowances program reduces the time it takes to make decisions on disability applications filed by claimants with the most serious disabilities, so they receive decisions on their claims within days, instead of months or years.

The new conditions are:

  • Fibrolamellar Cancer
  • Megacystis Microcolon Intestinal Hypoperistalsis Syndrome
  • Megalencephaly-Capillary Malformation Syndrome
  • Superficial Siderosis of the Central Nervous System
  • Tetrasomy 18p

To see the complete list of Compassionate Allowances conditions, please click here.